The 8 Stages Of Conscious Evolution – At What Stage Are You?

There’s no wonder we live in the age of spiritual awakening. Have you ever wondered at what level of consciousness you truly are?

Part of the answer lies within you, of course. The thing is we don’t need to know this to boast about it or claim we’re on a higher level of consciousness than other people. That would clearly defeat the purpose of awakening. But an internal GPS wouldn’t hurt.

It’s important to know at what stage we are in this spiritual evolution and to know we still have a lot to learn, but mostly, to unlearn.

MORE: 6 Signs You’re About To Find The Love Of Your Life

Justin Faerman’s research paper identifies 8 stages of consciousness. Here they are:

Stage 1: Life Happens To Me (Externalization)

This is considered a lower consciousness stage and it’s all about a victim mentality. People at this stage rely on patterns of externalization and generally believe that they can’t trust life. They feel they have no control over any aspect of their lives and usually prefer to put the blame on other factors or other people.

They don’t feel safe and long for security. The dominant emotions are fear and hopelessness.

Stage 2: Life Happens By Me (Control)

People in this stage have realized they have a degree of control over external factors and circumstances. But this type of control is more about control over other people, as well as power. This would be the current state of the world, especially if you look at the politics arena.

MORE: Why You Need Emotional Intelligence In Your Everyday Life, According To Psychologists

These people are more dominated by fear and the instinct of survival.

Stage 3: Life Happens In Me (Creator)

This is the first stage of a higher consciousness. It is at this point that we begin to awaken, little by little, and understand how our thoughts and emotions impact the outside world. In that sense, we realize we are creating our reality in a way. And this has strong basis in science, more specifically quantum physics.

This stage marks a fundamental shift when the individual must go through an all-encompassing healing process to overcome any emotional traumas that may keep them stuck.

MORE: Don’t Look Back In Anger, No Matter How Much It Hurts

Stage 4: Life Happens For Me (Receiver)

At this stage, the resistance to perceived negative circumstances in life fades away. We then begin to understand that the universe operates the way it does to to help you reach a higher level of consciousness. At this stage, individuals realize the great potential that exists in suffering. They also feel that nothing is out of place.

Stage 5: Life Happens Through Me (Philosopher)

At this stage of consciousness, one begins to deeply understand and feel the wonderful workings of the Universe. Moreover, they begin to experience the Universe as it lives and evolves through them.

They can see clearly now that perceived suffering is either resistance to what is unfolding or something created by their own consciousness to help them reach a higher level. The dominant thing that guides them is intuition.

MORE: Letting Go Is Not Giving Up, It’s The First Step Towards Acceptance

Stage 6: Life Is Me (Sage)

At this stage, the individual begins to understand that reality is not separate from consciousness. They experience a profound sense of oneness and impact the lives of others merely through their presence. These people are highly intuitive and introspective. They are driven by emotions such as joy, love, and peace.

Stage 7: I Am Infinite (Avatar)

At this incredible stage of spiritual growth, the individual begins to transcend the physical world and its aspects. They realize how limitless they truly are and how all possibilities are achievable.

MORE: Keep This In Mind When You Try to Forgive Someone

Stage 8: I Am Energy (Mystic-Shamanic)

At this stage of spiritual expansion, the individual has the ability to communicate with other forms of consciousness like plants or animals. They can also feel, read and project subtle energy that cannot be perceived by those in lower stages of development.

In the realization that everything is energy and that reality is an illusion, they have achieved enlightenment.

So where are you right now? Remember it’s important to be honest with yourself and to keep in learning and growing spiritually. Please share this!